Her Dream Deferred: A Week on the Status of Black Women, March 29 – April 2, 2021

A series of conversations and events focused on elevating the status of  Black women and girls in our country.

For this year’s Her Dream Deferred, AAPF has curated a full week of programming centered on the needs and experiences of Black women:

On Monday, at 5pm PDT/8pm EDT, a panel of health practitioners and experts — Dr. Joia Crear-Perry, Dr. Karen Scott, Dr. Alisha Liggett and Dr. Gail Wyatt — will join AAPF Executive Director (ED) Kimberlé Crenshaw for a vital conversation on Black women’s healthcare experiences. The event, co-hosted by the National Birth Equity Collaborative, will discuss stereotyping and mistreatment, debunk misinformation, and highlight the intersectional failures that lead to Black women’s disproportionate vulnerabilities within the healthcare system. You can register for the panel, “When Misogynoir is a Pre-existing Condition: Black Women’s Health During the Twin Pandemics,” at this link.
 
On Tuesday, at 5pm PDT/8pm EDT, ED Crenshaw will be joined by WNBA players Sydney Colson and Layshia Clarendon, as well as New Orleans Saints linebacker Demario Davis, for a roundtable discussion on the history and power of athlete activism, particularly as it pertains to Black women. Through their work with the WNBA’s Social Justice Council and the NFL’s Players Coalition, these three athletes bring to Her Dream Deferred incredible insight and experience. You can register for Tuesday’s roundtable, “Engendering the Politics of the Black Athlete,” at this link.
 
On Wednesday, at 3:30pm PDT/6:30pm EDT, we will begin our Her Dream Deferred Mini Film Fest with a community screening of the acclaimed documentary Coded Bias, directed by Shalini Kantayya, which tells the story of computer scientist Joy Buolamwini’s discovery of racial bias in artificial intelligence technologies. Stay tuned after the screening for a talkback co-hosted by the Algorithmic Justice League featuring Buolamwini, Timnit Gebru, Tranae’ Moran, Cathy O’Neil, and Ruha Benjamin. Find more info on the panelists, and register for Wednesday’s screening and talkback at this link.
 
The Mini Film Fest continues on Thursday at 4:30pm PDT/7:30pm EDT with the Oscar-nominated short film A Love Song for Latasha, directed by Sophia Nahli Allison, which builds a rich archival portrait of Latasha Harlins, whose killing in 1991 became a flashpoint for the LA uprisings in 1992. Allison, and other special guests, will join ED Crenshaw following the community screening to discuss the film, its themes, and the importance of telling Black girls’ stories. Register for the screening and talkback at this link.
 
On Friday at 12pm PDT/3pm EDT, we will close out the Mini Film Fest slate with Still I Rise, directed by Sheri Shuster, a powerful documentary that examines the relationship between racism and sex trafficking while following advocates Leah Albright-Byrd and Holly Joshi in their work to confront trafficking in the Bay Area. We’re honored to bring Albright-Byrd, Joshi, and Schuster together for a roundtable conversation with ED Crenshaw following the screening. Register for the screening and talkback at this link.

Email info@aapf.org with any questions about events or registration.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: