Upcoming Trainings

Examining Racism: Looking Inward First (Not in Our Town Princeton)

Cost: Free

Dates: To be determined.  Email linda.oppenheim@gmail.com if you are interested in this program for your organization or faith community.

Description: Two-part, interactive workshop to help participants begin to understand how racism functions and how all of us participate in its continuance.  Limited to a minimum of 6 and a maximum of 20 participants.

Cost: Free

Dates: Starts April 8

Description: Anti-Racism I is an introduction to the topic of race and racism in the United States. The primary audience for this course is anyone who is interested in learning about race/racism in the US who has never taken a course in critical race or ethnic studies or affiliated fields (indeed, who may not know what the fields of critical race studies or ethnic studies are), who has never read a book about race/racism, or attended any race equity or diversity trainings on the topic of race/racism.

Raising Anti-racist White Children (Center for the Study of White American Culture)
Cost: $125
Dates: Friday, April 9,16 & 23,2021*

Time: +1-3pm Eastern; Noon-2pm Central; 11am-1pm Mountain; 10am-Noon Pacific
Description: How to prepare white children to live in our increasingly multiracial society. The workshop encourages the development of an anti-racist outlook in all children, and focuses on the particular experience of raising white children.

Introduction to Implicit Racial Bias and What You Can Do to Stop It (Dr. Amanda Kemp)

Dates: April 15 or 16, 2021

Cost: $97.00 (minimum)

Description: Before we can create healthy relationships across the color line, attract and retain racial diversity, or be effective advocates for change in our institutions we need to increase self-awareness.

This training is one step that will help you avoid needless harm and to actively take the right steps to create a society that works for all of us.

Spring Institute on Race (Beyond Diversity)

Tuition: $150

Dates: May 3 and 4, 2021 (Monday and Tuesday)
Time: 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. Eastern (both days)

Description: Participants explore race and build a sense of community across racial differences. The Institute will be highly interactive. Participants will have the opportunity to discuss the racial tensions that arose in the United States because of police brutality, anti-Asian bigotry, and the failure of our society to address structural racism and racial inequities.

Cost: $125
Dates:Weds, May 5, 12, 19, 2021*

Time: 7-9pm Eastern; 6-8pm Central; 5-7pm Mountain; 4-6pm Pacific
Description: For white people who want to work against racism and for people of color who want to support white people in doing so. Topics in this second-level course cover why accountability is important and what can be done to achieve it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: